PJ BLOGGER

Reader explains the concept of public message boards…

In Public Message Board on February 18, 2009 at 2:03 pm

First, allow me to explain the concept of a public message board.

A public message board is forum in which to share one’s opinion. Anyone can post a comment and anyone is free to respond with their own opinion. Here’s the thing though, not everyone is going to agree or like what they read. And I must warn you. At times, there may be colorful language involved, so you really need to be mature enough to handle that without becoming overly reactionary. That said, perhaps you should really try to learn the difference between an opinion and an accusation.

I’ve prefaced most of my posts with “If”, i.e. “if” in fact this is the way the officer was behaving. It was an opinion of his alleged behavior and not his personality. Having said that, given the amount of “hearsay” that has been filtering in, it seems fairly accurate.

At the risk of offending your delicate sensibilities and perceived degree of personal perfection, “IF” we have an officer on our PD who is abusing his authority then in my, less than perfect opinion, he is “behaving” like an asshole.

Ooops, was that my outside voice?

Why yes, yes it was!

Baby 300 X 250

  1. i.e. is Latin for “id est” which means “that is,” not “for example” (“in example”?)

  2. “There have been times I KNOW I should have gotten a ticket. I made a right on red where I didn’t see the sign posted. I had a tail light or headlight out, etc. Guess what? When the police officer realized that I wasn’t intentionally ignoring either, he cut me a break and let me go with a warning. He wasn’t a complete and utter asshole and therein lies the difference.”

    Where is the “if” prefacing the use of profanity?

  3. Anonymous said…
    “There have been times I KNOW I should have gotten a ticket. I made a right on red where I didn’t see the sign posted. I had a tail light or headlight out, etc. Guess what? When the police officer realized that I wasn’t intentionally ignoring either, he cut me a break and let me go with a warning. He wasn’t a complete and utter asshole and therein lies the difference.”

    Where is the “if” prefacing the use of profanity?

    11:07 AM

    What I actually stated was that I used the preface “if” in “most” of my posts, but I believe you may have misunderstood what I meant in any case.

    The “if” isn’t suppose to preface the use of a profanity. The “if” prefaces whether or not the behavior did, in fact, take place. “If” the officer in question behaved in the manner described, then this is my opinion of his behavior.

    Perhaps you also misinterpreted the post you copied. I was actually stating the police officer in question was NOT behaving disrespectfully and therefore, my opinion of his behavior was entirely different. In either case, mine was still an opinion, not an accusation.

    “If” this or any officer, abuses his position of authority and treats our residents disrespectfully, then in my “opinion” he was behaving like an asshole or “a**hole” for those who may so scarred for life by seeing the actual “profanity” in print.

    N’uff said?

  4. Anonymous said…
    i.e. is Latin for “id est” which means “that is,” not “for example” (“in example”?)

    10:16 AM

    I do appreciate your correction, but isn’t that what I said?

    Tracy said:

    “I’ve prefaced most of my posts with “If”, i.e.(that is) “if” in fact this is the way the officer was behaving. It was an opinion of his alleged behavior and not his personality. Having said that, given the amount of “hearsay” that has been filtering in, it seems fairly accurate.”

  5. By the way, thank you PJ, I’m honored!

  6. But, you do not post all responses. I have responded many times to the scott garrett memos. I do not use profanity or name calling. I disagree with him and my responses to his memos have never been posted.

Leave a Reply

