PJ BLOGGER

Reader "Call it what you want, but to me, it has always been a Christmas tree!"

In Uncategorized on November 6, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Why dont we all make up our own t-shirts and wear them to the tree lighting? They can say, Call it what you want, but to me, it has always been a Christmas tree! It could be a sort of grass roots effort and we could see just how many people feel the same way and we could show our support. If it is too cold for Tshirts, we could carry signs or tote bags or something. Come on, let’s get creative and not let people take another tradition away from us!!!

Apple iTunes

  1. I was raised Christian, I am now a practicing Pagan. I have absolutely no problem referring to a Christmas tree in the way it has always been referred.

    Many cultures and religions celebrate their holiday around the same time. We call ours Yule and it falls on December 21st. You don’t see me whining that there isn’t a pentacle in the center of Van Neste park or that we’re not burning the Yule log somewhere in town.

    It’s absolutely ridiculous that with all the other issues in the World we need to concern ourselves with what to call a tree! In my humble opinion, of course.

  2. Tracy, you are a sane and reasonable person who understands that there are many religions in the world. However, this country wasn’t founded by Pagans who were fleeing a country where they felt persecuted and thus “set up shop” here. That is however the historical basis of the USA.
    Whatever the case, the Christmas tree has been in downtown Ridgewood for years and years and it was always fine. Only recently, did we start having to call it a Holiday Tree. Does it matter what we call it? Why did it have to change? It’s like changing the word “car” and deciding to call it a transportation pod or something ridiculously unnecessary like that.
    The beauty of this country is that you have every right to burn a Yule log, set up a pentacle, or do whatever you like on your lawn or in your yard. You may celebrate as you wish. You also do not seem to mind if the tree is referred to as a Christmas tree, if I am understanding you correctly.
    I just feel like, as a Christian (and I am not actually very religious, but I do have a spiritual side) I am now having to be careful so as not to offend people simply by calling our symbols what they indeed are. I am afraid that this will only get worse with the upcoming Obama administration.
    I would never think of asking a Jew to call their Dreidel a “holiday top” or a refer to a Menorah as a “candelabra.”
    Why do we, as Christians, need to change our terminology?? It is ridiculous.
    Anyway, I hope you have a happy Yule season and thank you for responding to my original thread! šŸ™‚

  3. I absolutely agree with you. The “walking on egg shells climate” we live in has gotten completely out of hand. The bigotry that exists didn’t come about because the Christmas tree was called a Christmas tree. It was brought about because of intolerance for people’s differences.

    I believe that changing our terminology only widens those differences and fuels that intolerance.

    Thank you for your Yule blessings and I hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year!

  4. I'll be sure to wish everyone a Happy Festivus when they come into my line at Stop & Shop!
    Happy Festivus everyone!

  5. Happy Festivus to you too!

    Will you be decorating the Festivus Pole this year as well? šŸ™‚

  6. wake up people it will allways be a christmas tree.and thats that,and all can come its for all of us.

  7. I think we’re all awake and apparently we’re all on the same page as well šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

