PJ BLOGGER

New Sculptures May Soon Be Positioned Throughout Central Business District

In Uncategorized on November 6, 2008 at 7:53 pm

The Village Council last night gave preliminary approval for several volunteers, led by Nancy Brennan-Hill of Doremus Avenue, to begin assembling an inventory of additional sculptures suitable for display at various locations throughout Ridgewood’s Central Business District 9CBD).

Any new sculptures would join several currently in place within the CBD itself, and a few on CBD outskirts. Most notable are the letter carrier (near post office), dog and boy with ice cream cone (in front of Van Neste Memorial Park), and bear (at Ken Smith Motors).

Several years ago, a similar endeavor took place. The most notable sculpture at that time was a large black Moses, crafted by artist Judith Peck of Mahwah, NJ, which was located displayed on the property of Christ Episcopal Church at Cottage Street and Franklin Avenue.

http://www.judithpeck.com/large_scale/large_scale.html

Sirius Satellite Radio Inc.

  1. That was Moses? I thought it was Darth Vadar.

  2. Off Topic (New thread?):

    Now that the election is over does anyone know the cost to the HSA for the police presence in the schools?

    When asked earlier, the answer was:
    It depends upon how many hours police officers will be present at each building.

    Well, the election is over — are we going to know the cost or will this just be forgotten now that the 3 hysterical parents asking for police security have been placated (with my money)?

  3. I gotta tell ya, that letter carrier freaks me out every time!

    You mean no one has complained that there’s a bronze of Moses? I’m surprised.

    I wonder if they’d consider a statue of Elizabeth Montgomery from Bewitched for me. I think Luening Park needs a little something.

  4. The Letter Carrier is creepy isn’t he?

  5. Yes, he is. If I’m walking by and happen to be lost in thought, I’ll look up to see this person who is, well, not part of the rainbow of colors that people usually are. It usual takes me a half a second to remember he’s there and realize he’s a bronze! By that time, it’s too late…I’m freaked out!

  6. this is a nice change in the town.

  7. Chairman Mao perhaps

  8. I love works of art, so I have no problem with them adding more. I just hope they don’t raise my property taxes anymore to pay for them!

    Chairman Mao? Maybe not.

  9. tracy a good witch or a bad witch?

  10. There are no good or bad Witches, just good or bad people. I try to good…most of the time 🙂

  11. There are also no witches…

  12. Well, that is a bold, although erroneous statement. I think the 140 people that I spent time with this weekend, that do consider themselves Witches, would certainly disagree.

    You might be surprised how many sane, successful and professional people do consider themselves Witches. I might guess that you’ve probably met someone who is a Witch and didn’t even realize it.

    If someone practices the religion of Wicca and that practice includes what is commonly known as Witchcraft, what does that make them? You might say crazy, but I can assure you that this is not the case. I recently met a lovely woman who I learned later was a neuroscientist. She also refers to herself as a Witch.

    You are, of course, absolutely welcome to your own opinion, but I think further research into neopaganism, the Wiccan religion and modern day Witches would clear up your misconceptions.

  13. “…do consider themselves Witches…”

    Ahhh… there’s the rub.

  14. Wouldn’t a person that practices Christianity, Judaism or Islam consider themselves Christian, Jewish or Islamic?

    If a person practices the religion of Wicca, often, but not always, they will refer to themselves as a Witch. That said, not all Wiccans are Witches. Some Wiccans practice the religion of Wicca without practicing Witchcraft. Some people just practice Witchcraft. They consider themselves Witches as well.

    I suspect that what your description of what a “Witch” is and what mine is may be entirely different. If your description includes the Hollywood representation of the green faced hag with the wart on her nose, flying around on a broom, then you would most definitely be correct that there are no Witches.

    I can assure you that neither I, nor any of the other Witches I know, and there are many, don’t fit that description. They may however, look a lot like the nurse in your doctor’s office, the cashier in the supermarket or like the physician himself.

    For the record, I haven’t ridden on a broom in centuries. I find my volvo so much more reliable!

  15. You say there are no Witches, so you must have some idea what a Witch actually is to know there aren’t any. I would be interested in hearing your definition.

  16. Love the sculptures that we already have. I think they add something wonderful to the village. The Moses was amazing, do miss him, but am looking forward to seeing the next round!

Leave a Reply

